AW

Area West Committee – 20th June 2007

11. Area West Working Groups - Appointment of Members 2007/08 (Executive Decision)

Head of Service:Ian Clarke, Head of Legal and Democratic ServicesLead Officer:Andrew Blackburn, Committee AdministratorContact Details:andrew.blackburn@southsomerset.gov.uk or (01460) 260441

Purpose of the Report

As the Council has entered a new municipal year the Committee is asked to review the appointment of members to various working groups.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Committee reviews the appointment of members on the following groups:-

(a) Crewkerne and Area Community Office - Board Representation

The Crewkerne and Area Community Office Board maintains a watching brief over the Community Office. The Board is made up of one officer and one member from the Crewkerne Town, Somerset County and South Somerset District Councils who jointly fund the Community Office.

The previous representative for the District Council was Cllr. Angle Singleton.

(b) Area West Community Safety Action Panel

The Area West Community Safety Action Panel is made up of people who work or live in the area and have an interest in tackling community safety issues. Membership includes representatives from the Police, Youth Service, Primary Care Trust and the District Council.

The previous representative for the District Council was Cllr. Mike Best.

(c) Community Planning Partnerships

Community Planning Partnerships help local authorities and partner organisations come together to plan, provide and promote the well being of their communities.

(1) Chard Area Community Planning Partnership

The previous representatives for the District Council were as follows:-

Stella Abbey David Bulmer David Lamb Nigel Mermagen Jean Smith Andrew Turpin Martin Wale

Members were appointed previously, in anticipation of the establishment of a Community Planning Partnership (CPP). The CPP will be established later this year as part of the emerging Chard Vision project and a report will be submitted to the Committee in due course.



(2) Crewkerne Area Community Planning Partnership – A Better Crewkerne & District (ABCD)

The previous representatives for the District Council were as follows:-

Stella Abbey Mike Best Adrian Cavendish Geoff Clarke Ric Pallister Angie Singleton

(3) Ilminster Area Community Planning Partnership

The previous representatives for the District Council were as follows:-

Stella Abbey Martin Rawstorne Kim Turner Linda Vijeh

Background Papers: None.